You are Here » Home » News » Hucknall Women’s Water Polo Champions

Monday, March 11, 2019

Hucknall Women’s Water Polo Champions

The meeting of the top two teams to decide the women’s Championship 1 winners produced a comfortable 12-6 victory for Hucknall over Sheffield Sharks at Liverpool.

All smiles from new champions Hucknall at Liverpool. Front, L-R: Mia Lovell, Eda Colliver, Giorgia Bosworth, Naya Patel, Anna Loyd. Second row: Katelyn Fairchild, Cara Saunders, Helen Reader, Marta Gasso, India Wilkinson, Carlene Piquard. Back: Tim Dunsbee (coach), Mary-Clare Endy.
(Photo by Trevor Hyde)

After an even start, Hucknall steadily took control, India Wilkinson leading the way with four goals. Other scorers were Katelyn Fairchild (2), Anna Lord (2), Marta Gasso, Cara Saunders, Charlene Piquard and Eda Colliver. Larissa Partridge was outstanding for Sheffield, scoring all their goals.

The other matches during the final session all ended in single-goal victories. Mid Sussex Marlins won for the first time, 14-13 against Tyldesley, scoring vital goals late on by Lauren Hand (2), Isobel Bates and Eve Tidy. 

Liverpool Liver Birds beat City of Bristol 7-6 thanks to Katie Bowater’s fifth goal just seconds from the end. City of Birmingham ended their campaign in style, beating Leeds Sharks 7-6, including four goals from Sancha Tonks. Hucknall, Sheffield and Leeds start next season in Division 1.

This article was posted in News, Water Polo. Bookmark this Article.